How to Get the World to Come to You

17022518_1654216161273976_6226701210698452942_n_pe.jpg
Missed The Bus by Donni Lockridge

Tips from readers on how to make life easier when you can’t leave the house (or can’t leave your bed).

The Mail

“The post office will permanently deliver your mail to a receptacle at your door when provided with a letter from your doctor requesting they do so. This was one of the first things I did after finally being diagnosed and ordered to bed by my doctor. It’s a literal godsend.” – Victoria Bell. Learn more about how: Victoria Gets Mail Delivered to Her Doorstep

Faxing

“There is a really cool inexpensive way to fax online. I’ve had to do quite a bit of faxing since I’ve been sick and this program has been a God send for me.” – Hyacinth. Little faxing: Hello Fax Lot of faxing: Metrofax

Pharmacy

“Online pharmacy delivers your meds to your house. My friend liked this service so much, he applied for a job at the company.” Pill Pack

Be a Cat

“My roommate helps me with everything. Unfortunately, he goes away for business a lot. We do batch cooking and freeze meals beforehand, but I can’t wash dishes or take out the garbage. Most paid helpers require a three-hour minimum so I hired a local catsitter to help me when he’s gone. It’s about the same amount of work. 🤷‍♀️ She calls me her fake cat. 🤣 🐈 🐱”

Taxes

“I just found out that if I contact my local office for the aging (even if you are young), they can set me up with a volunteer who can come and help me complete my taxes if I am home bound.” – Wendy Spring Gelb

Eyeglasses

“Sounds too good to be true. But it is true! Prescription eyeglass for $7. You have to know what your prescription is. Try to exercise a lot of self-control at check out. Uncheck all the boxes to add bells and whistles and just buy the basic glasses. $7. Really. Zenni Glasses. If you can’t leave your house to get to the eye doc, for $40, this business offers online vision testing and prescriptions. I have not tried it: Opternative

State ID

“If it is a renewal, you can do it by mail. If it is not a renewal, in my state, the DMV can come to your house to take a picture, fill out forms, and give you a state ID. This is for disabled people. Call the DMV and they will direct you to the closest DMV that will come to your house.”

Area Agency on Aging

“This is a great group to contact no matter what your age is. When I needed wheelchair ramps, I called every organization in the state. The only one that was helpful was the Area Agency on Aging – even though I am only 30 years old. They sent me a list of resources and I got custom-built free ramps on my house. They have all kinds of resources and information there for help you can get in your home.” – DN

Living With Others

“I am not well enough to make social plans and it stresses me out to have people come over. Living with housemates works really well for me. I don’t have to plan anything, but if I want company, people are already there in my house. I never invite people to the house, but my housemates sometimes invite their friends and family, so I make new friends that way.” How to Find Wonderful Housemates & Caregivers

Electric Wheelchairs and Scooters

“Medicare and Medicaid paid for me to have an electric mobility scooter to use in my home. It’s been a big help.” – JS How to Get an Electric Wheelchair or Scooter Through Insurance

Craigslist

I use Craigslist a lot and many people are so kind to deliver right to me — even setting up items for me. I sell unneeded items on Craigslist, too, and make a few dollars now & again. I also sell my paintings & bird houses & feeders & painted tennis shoes . I also grow my own veggies & strawberries.” – DL

Packages

“I am bedridden and can’t get to my front door to take delivery of postal items that need to be signed for. But I can walk to my bedroom window so I have delivery people deliver items through my bedroom window.” -KC

Family Events

“For one daughter’s wedding and the other daughter’s baby shower, their friends set up a live feed for me so I could watch on laptop from my bed. It was truly wonderful to be included in that way!” – KC

Power of Attorney

“I’ve had a number of times where I needed a notary (for Power of Attorney and other documents). A traveling notary who would come to my house was not cheap. I called my State Representative’s office and they offered to send staff over (for free!) to notarize documents. It seems like it should be a simple problem to solve, but I was almost in tears at the offer. We had to reschedule twice, but they took care of all the notarizing.” – JM

Practitioners 

“We have had acupuncturists and a cranial osteopath come to our home. Insurance paid for part of it. We also found a service that would send someone to our home to insert a PICC line. You can also find people who give massages it will come to your home. And sometimes a lymphatic massage might be helpful if people have sensitivities or if deep massage might release something that could be not so great for a CFS patient.” – JD How to Find a Nurse or Doctor who Can Come to Your House

Stools

“I bought a rolling stool to use in the kitchen. It is a little bit tippy/dangerous, but it makes it possible for me to prepare snacks.” – VO

Caregivers

“I’ve had a hard time finding people to be caregivers. I finally discovered a site called care.com which has been just great.” – JD

Bedridden?

Check out this list of brilliant ways to use technology and devices to make life in bed more fun: Ricky Buchanan: geek-creative-disabled-bedridden-internet-citizen

Bored While Resting?

Bored While Resting? Activities you can do from home or from bed – by Colleen Steckel

What Do You Do All Day? How to have a fulfilling life. From bed! – by Ricky Buchanan

Learn More 

How to Be Homebound

How to Get a Caregiver

How to Get Home Modifications

How to Get Groceries Delivered

How to #Resist From Home

Updated March 2020. Please comment below with stories, questions, input or ideas. Please let us know if any links on this page stop working.

3 thoughts on “How to Get the World to Come to You”

  1. For people who can or like to read, listen to music, or watch the occasional TV show/ movie, check out your local library. Some have e-sources you can access online with your library card while others have programs which can deliver or mail materials to your door for free. My library has a homebound delivery program where volunteers drop off materials you want and pick them up later to return. Call and ask.

    Like

Leave a comment