How To Protect Your Social Security Check

79f96f590708b2166a2e25427041c50d.jpg

There are special laws in place that protect Social Security checks from debt collectors. You may need to take a few extra steps if you wish to use these laws.

In most situations, there is no way for debt collectors to ever take disability money (except the obvious way = you give it to them).

The rules are different for different kinds of debt. Here you can learn who can and can’t take Social Security money.

If the debt collector can’t take your money, they can’t take it. But they are still going to try to. (They are debt collectors after all!).

Here is how to protect yourself:

How To Protect Your Bank Account from Being Frozen

Sometimes debt collectors try to freeze your bank account. If you want to stop this from happening , there are some steps you can take.

There are three ways Social Security can send you money:

Paper checks: Never protected

  1. Social Security sends you a paper check in the mail.
  2. According to the law this money is not protected at all.
  3. You are allowed to cash the check and take the money out of your bank account.
  4. If you leave the money in your account, any amount you leave can get frozen. Then you will have to work with the bank or go to court to get it unfrozen.

Direct deposits into your bank account: Protected for 60 days

  1. Social Security puts money directly into your bank account.
  2. According to the law, this money is protected for 60 days, as long as you don’t move the money and don’t transfer it into a different account.
  3. To stay protected, the money needs to be left in the bank account where it was received. If you move the money you will lose all protections.
  4. Try not to deposit any other kinds of money into this account. If at all possible, try to keep this account Social Security money only. If it is intermingled with other funds it may be more difficult to protect.
  5. Important: To stay protected, the money needs to be either spent or taken out in the bank within 60 days.
  6. After 60 days, if any amount is left, this money can be frozen.

Direct express cards: Always protected

  1. Direct Express cards are like credit cards that have your Social Security money already loaded onto them. They can be used the same way as credit cards.
  2. Direct Express cards have the same protections as bank accounts.
  3. Since your Direct Express card will only contain Social Security funds, you do not have to worry about intermingled funds.

Please Double Check 

Financial regulations are complex and can change. Please double check and do more reading before making any important decisions. Here’s a few places where you can get started:

Special Notes About Backpay

For SSDI

  1. There are no restrictions on what you do with your backpay money.

For SSI

  1. Backpay should be spent within 9 months of receiving it. If you receive multiple checks, then each one has a nine month limit.
  2. You are allowed to keep your backpay in a bank, or withdraw it in cash, or keep it in any other way you wish.
  3. After the nine months have passed, any amount you have left over is counted as an asset and should be reported as an asset to Social Security.
  4. If you have too many assets, your SSI will stop until the assets are spent.
  5. Do not give your backpay money away and do not transfer it into someone else’s name. You are allowed to spend it, but not give it away.
  6. If you first became disabled before the age of 26, you can deposit your backpay into an ABLE account. Some people find this a convenient way to store backpay.

Big Exception

If you have ever given the creditor permission to take money directly out of your bank account, then they can just keep taking it forever and none of the protections above will help you until you withdraw the permission. You will need to write to them and withdraw the permission.

Another option is to just close the bank account and go to a new bank. Creditors don’t get to just follow you around and keep taking money out wherever you are.

If you are getting a big backpay check, don’t put it in an account where you have given creditors permission to take money from your account. Your backpay may suddenly disappear.

If Debt Collectors Try to Freeze Your Bank Account

If you follow everything above, and the bank still freezes your account, they have made a mistake. Notify the bank that this account is funds from Social Security (they should automatically know this, but just in case).

If Debt Collectors Take You To Court

I have read that it is important to always go to court and never ignore a court notice. Before your court date, you can send in a form called Objections to Garnishment. Creditors will not be allowed to take any of your Social Security money, and they will be required to return any money they have taken without your permission. Google MC-49 Social Security Objections to Garnishment for more information.

If Debt Collectors Call or Write You

How you respond is important and can make your debt better or worse. You can send them a letter that your income is Social Security funds. Here’s more about how to respond when creditors call you.

What Happens if I Don’t Pay My Debt

It depends on the type of debt and your financial situation. If the only money you have is Social Security, in many cases the answer is: nothing. There may literally be nothing a debt collector can do. In other situations, this may cause issues. Learn more about what happens if you don’t pay your debt.

If your only income is from Social Security, and you don’t own any assets, you may be considered “judgement proof.” This means debt collectors cannot take your money. Learn more: How To Be Judgement Proof

If I Don’t Pay, Will I Owe Money Forever?

In most cases, no. Most private debt will expire. Government debt can be different.

If I Do Pay Will I Owe Money Forever?

Maybe. If you keep paying it will never expire. Learn more here.

Keeping Money in Cash

You are allowed to keep your money in cash, or to take cash out of the bank. However, you must accurately report the amount of cash that you have whenever you apply for or get reviewed for food stamps, SSI, Medicaid, or housing assistance.

If you keep your money in cash and spend it, make sure to keep receipts. There is a chance that you will be asked for these receipts to prove that the money is spent and that you are not hiding or underreporting any savings.

Giving Money Away

If you are in any needs – based programs (such as food stamps, Medicaid, or SSI) you have to be very careful about giving money away. Many programs will put a penalty on money that is given away. These rules are often called “transfer of resources.”

From Readers

“Most of my debts are being erased through bankruptcy, and my federal student loans are getting disability-discharged. I stopped auto-pay on my private student loans and then, for unrelated reasons, changed banks. Phew! I’m not a criminal, for crying out loud, just a sick person trying to get by.”

What Do You Think? 

Please comment below with stories, ideas, questions or suggestions. Please let us know if any links on this page stop working. 

If you found this page helpful, please share it with others by pressing one of these magic little buttons: 

25 thoughts on “How To Protect Your Social Security Check”

  1. Hi I just received my backpay and am not sure how to protect it from creditors. I have very little money under $100 in the account otherwise which I use to pay off debt when I can do multiple credit card accounts have this account information. I don’t want to close the account because my ongoing benefits will be direct deposited here and if I change the direct deposit account now then payments will be delayed 1-2 months. Should I pull out my whole backpay to safeguard from creditors since my account is “commingled”? Should I just change my direct deposit account? Or can I just take out backpay and deposit it elsewhere and then continue receiving direct deposit in that account and stop using it for anything else? Thank you for all your help and all these resources!! Just scared my backpay will disappear overnight.

    Like

    1. If you move the funds, they won’t be protected.

      How do they have your account information? If you’ve ever given them permission to take funds out of your account I would be very concerned. We have had readers have funds taken out directly, but I don’t know the particulars of how this happened.

      Co-mingling is complicated, it’s still protected, but you may have to prove which part is social security check and I don’t know the process for that or how long it takes.

      You could just not keep your money in the bank.

      Like

  2. Hi , this is such an awesome site , thank you .
    I’m totally new with all of this . I was just approved last week for social security benefits (SSDI) , and am set to receive my 1sst check in 3 weeks . I’ve had no income for 9 months now .
    Since I did work for the 1st three months of this year , I will be eligible for a federal tax return , probably my very last , ever . However , I’ve just been informed there is a bill collector that may take me to court .
    I’ve been unable to pay any bills for 9 months , and was looking forward to my federal tax return since I’ve had no income at all for so long ,
    How can I keep this tax return from being garnished or taken away . I do eventually plan to get my financial obligations in order , but I simply haven’t been able to since becoming disabled (stroke) since last March .
    Thank you and Merry Christmas too .

    Like

    1. Merry Christmas and congrats on your approval. I’m sorry to say I know nothing about tax garnishment. You might try contacting your local legal aide to see if they are able to refer you to someone who give guidance on this…. or there’s probably some info you can find online.

      Like

  3. I have applied for a Disability discharge on my student loan. They have denied it stating that they need my doctor to fill out a form, or a letter from Social Security saying that my disability review will be from 5 to 7 years. I sent them a copy of my BPQY that says my next medical review is in 2021. I don’t think I have ever had a “disability review” since I won my Disability case back in 2002. (I have full disability). So how do I get my doctor to sign the form, or how do I get a disability review? Is the disability review itself coming from my Doctor, or from Social Security?

    Like

    1. You cannot change your disability review date…. so you would need to do the doctor’s form.

      The form is on the website where you applied 🙂 You can print it out and bring it to your doctor. Hope it goes great for you.

      Like

  4. hello, I have a question, hopefully you can direct me or know the answer. I get financial aid and have 6 more classes for my bachelor’s degree to be completed, and I just got disability. Do I need to call Financial Aid or call my University? I was told by someone that I will not have to pay back my loans for school now, can you answer any of these questions?
    Thank you L.J

    Like

    1. Hi lorraine,

      I don’t know the regs for financial aid. It seems like a good idea to contact them and report that you will be having more income, in case this impacts you aide award.

      For SSI, loans have no impact, but certain types of grants might impact your disability check, so you’d want to be sure social security knows as well. If this is for SSDI, never mind.

      for loan repayment there is more info here…
      https://howtogeton.wordpress.com/student-loans-discharges-disability/

      Like

      1. I’ve heard that you may have to repay SSDI if you are in school and they don’t know it – there are special regs apparently so they need to know u are in school – ask them if being in college affects your income. I’ve heard people say they’ve been kicked out of the program and had to repay SSDI

        Like

  5. Wow thank you. What great info. Written to understand too which is a huge bonus. I read a lot already & will read more over the next few dats since I will forget what I read 😦 greatly appreciated

    Like

  6. Within the next week, my 81 y/o mother will relocate from her home of 40 years to an assisted living facility in Pennsylvania. Her only income is her social security and all of it will be paid to the facility each month in exchange for rent and expenses. She is projected to have additional VA benefits to assist in payment. Her home still has a mortgage note of approximately $29K but due to the condition of the home, any hopeful sale will not garner much, if any, profit. It is possible it will be handed back to the mortgage company. I fully assume she is judgment proof and ask should I still meet with a lawyer or is writing the judgment-proof letters to each creditor ourselves sufficient?

    Like

  7. I was just approved for SSDI and have my SSI interview on 2/22. First question, Do you know if I owe back taxes (fededal), will that be taken from my back pay payment? 2nd question, Since i have permanent custody of three grandchildren, are they eligible for benefits? One of them received survivor benefits due to the death of his mother. Thank you so much. This site is wonderful!

    Like

    1. Good questions that I do not know the answer to.

      IRS can garnish your backpay, and often does, but I can’t say for certain if it will happen in your case.

      For grandchildren, I believe they can only collect benefits if adopted, however, I may be wrong about this.

      Congrats on your approval 🙂

      Like

  8. Hi, I was wondering if you know if garnishments can effect ssdi backpay? I have seen info on the 60 day protection on monthly payments but nothing about back payments. Thanks

    Like

  9. I am the only one with credit card debts and my husband and I are separated but I still live in the home. I am on disability and have a seperate checking account where I pay certain bills out of for living here. Since I’m not divorced can they garnish wages out of his checking account?

    Like

  10. This is a very comprehensive site with quick, precise and easy to understand answers/explanations. Good stuff. Love the art work.

    Like

  11. Thank you so much for the resources and ideas you provide! I think this and info on student loans might be quite useful!

    Like

Leave a comment