How Marigold Got Approved in Six Months

4ce2188c09630e5930c720ab02e13c06.jpg
Artwork: Robin Mead

Seven steps Marigold took to win her claim:

  1. On my application I described how my symptoms disabled me daily: Being bedridden, unable to drive, unable to think, and a loss of cognitive functioning where I could barely finish a sentence. It took me a long time to put together and I asked for several extensions to prepare it because those forms are not easy to fill out when you don’t have the brain power or health to do it.
  1. I asked for help. My sister typed my application and wrote down that it was not my writing.
  1. I went to a lot of doctors in a year’s time. Social Security gives the most consideration to recent records.
  1. I had files from over ten doctors. I had good doctors who knew what to put in the files. How to Have Doctor Visits that Create Accurate Records
  1. My main diagnosis was Fibromyalgia and ME/CFS. I also included mental health. My claim also included a psychological diagnosis, plus records from my psychiatrist and therapist. How to Document Mental Health for a Disability Application
  1. I included letters from my former employers attesting to my decline. Sample Disability Letters from Friends, Family, Employers & Doctors
  1. I included letters from family and friends and who have witnessed my decline from well-functioning and hard-working to not being able to function.

I worked a steady career for twenty years. I went from a highly-functioning person to someone who could not function at all. I was approved fairly quickly. Hope this all helps.


Thanks for Reading

🌸 This page is part of the free online guide: The Sleepy Girl Guide to Social Security Disability 

🌸 Art on this page by Robin Mead and Elizabeth D’Angelo.

🌸 Page Updated: 10/1/19

🌸 To get daily updates on helpful disability services, and low income programs, follow us on Facebook: The Sleepy Girl Guide.

🌸 Please comment below with stories, ideas, questions or suggestions. Please let us know if any links on this page stop working. Please share this page with others by pressing one of these magic little buttons:

Leave a comment