How to Follow the SSI Food Regs

SSI sure does have a lot of rules.

Not only that… they have a lot of rules they don’t tell you!

Then they get mad at you for not following the rules you did not know you were supposed to be following and they want some of their money back.

Aren’t you glad you are here reading this so that will never happen to you?

The food rules are fairly similar to the rent and utility rules. They will look to see if you are paying your own food or covering your costs for your share of the food. Here’s how to stay out of hot water with food and grocery bills.

500_f_59858209_ka4u500dauxszktyorzspfiisdynhl8r

No impact on SSI:

  • You buy your food with your SSI money
  • You use food stamps
  • You use food banks, soup kitchens, other government and nonprofit programs
  • You do all your own shopping and buy all your own food
  • Someone else shops for you, but you give them your money or food stamps card
  • You pay for all your own food
  • You live with your spouse and your spouse pays for your food
  • You share food with others and you pay your share of grocery bill
  • You share food is included in the rent and rent is set to be correct according to the SSI rent rules

500_f_59858170_0hur6s09i64eu0wyrdk3azu13mwl9k10

May cause your check to lower:

  • Someone who is not your spouse is paying for your food
  • Someone who is not your spouse is giving you free food
  • You are sharing food with other people and not paying your share

 


FAQ

What if I go to someone’s house for dinner? Or a potluck at church?

The rules don’t mention what happens if you share an occasional meal, but we have never heard of anyone getting in trouble for having Christmas dinner at their mom’s house. We have always understood the rules to mean you are paying your own grocery bills at your home or at the place where you regularly eat.

What Happens if I Do Something on the Yes List?

Your check will either stay the same or go up. It depends if your check is currently being lowered because of free food.

What Happens if I Do Something on the No List?

Your check will either stay the same or go down. It depends if your check is already being lowered because of free food.

Can food be included in my rent?

Yes, but your rent must be calculated to be the right amount, plus the cost of food must be added into the rent.

Is it OK to share food?

Sharing food won’t make your Social Security check go down but your food stamps may be denied or very low


Thanks for Reading

🌸 This page is part of the free online guide: How to Stay Out of Hot Water with SSI

🌸 Art on this page by Robin Mead and Elizabeth D’Angelo.

🌸 Page Updated: 9/1/19

What Do You Think?

🌸 Please comment below with stories, ideas, questions or suggestions.

🌸 Please let us know if any links on this page stop working.

🌸 If you found this page helpful, please share it with others by pressing one of these magic little buttons: 

15 thoughts on “How to Follow the SSI Food Regs”

  1. I am the parent of an adult son with severe autism who just received SSI. I am the rep payee and I want to make sure that I use his monies appropriately. I have already set up a separate account and his SSI is being deposited there. His SSI was reduced for ISM that his father and I provide for him. Can I use his check to buy specific food items that only he eats or groceries for him? I had a person who worked with social security (now retired) tell me that I can’t use his money to buy foods for him because that is included in his ISM. That person told me that when I fill out the Annual Report I should not include anything for food and shelter.

    Like

    1. Yes, his check should be used for food and shelter first. If there is any amount left over, then it could be spent on other things (clothes, supplies, etc).

      Does he live with you? Is he over age 21?

      Like

      1. Yes, he lives with us (his parents). He turned 18 on November 2019. I’m so confused by the ISM and what I can use his money for because of the reduction.

        Like

  2. They took my food stamps away just for getting SSI. I don’t get it and they reduced my husbands. Neither of us can’t work and he’s still waiting on an SSI court date. I can never get a hold of them as to why. This is all new to me I just started getting my SSI money this month.

    Like

  3. Hello yet again sleepygirl 😁
    The food cost hasn’t been added into the rent and utilities monthly cost.
    Yes it is expressed in the agreement that I will be paying for my own food and supplies as will the other tenants. Along with not sharing food and supplies.
    I don’t know what the rest are paying for food. Do I have to add the estimated cost in the rental agreement?
    Yes I have more questions, sorry

    Like

    1. I don’t think you need to provide info on food – most leases don’t include anything about food. I don’t think SSA asks for specific proof about food (What proof could people give?) 🙂

      Like

      1. Ok sorry I’m just freakin out on what they’re going to want to know. My friend that I’ll be renting from, typed up the agreement like it’s an ssi form lol.
        I’m going in the morning now (few days early)
        I won’t talk about food either I promise 😊

        Like

          1. Thanks for that, sleepygirl
            It’s all typed and signed (even my middle name)
            Last time my full name was typed out on something it was an ssi letter.
            This is the real deal! Yowsers 😀

            Like

Leave a comment