How I Got Approved for Disability with Lyme Disease

1467329_819216151446957_161179672865087351_n.jpgA page full of Lymies who won their cases! 

While reading through this page, it will help a whole lot to keep in mind:

Every person on this page was diagnosed with Lyme disease.

Every person on this page was approved for Social Security disability.

No one on this page was approved for Lyme.

People were approved for Lyme plus a combination of other conditions and impairments caused by the Lyme.

Or people were approved for just the impairments caused by Lyme. Lyme Disease may have been listed on their initial application, but it was not included on the list in their approval letter.

Lotus Wins Her Case with a Doctor’s Letter

🌺 This letter was instrumental in winning my case. I was approved in ten months!

Daisy Wins Her Case with a Doctor’s Letter

🌺 Two weeks before my hearing, I met my attorney and he told me that I needed a doctor’s letter to make my case stronger. (He was right!).

Violet Wins Her Case with Function Forms

🌺  When I got to court, the lawyer said I had the best documentation she had seen all month.

Sweet Pea Gets Approved in Four Months (without a lawyer!)

🌺 Don’t assume that our doctors are knowledgeable about Social Security and know what to do. We need to be our own advocates.

Jasmine Gets Approved in Six Months (without a lawyer!)

🌺 We put ten things in one envelope. Six months later, I got approved

Poppy Wins Her Reconsideration in 5 Easy Steps

🌺 Only 7% of Requests for Reconsideration are approved. Here’s how Poppy did it.

Poppy Applies for Disability While in School

🌺 Poppy was in grad school while applying. Here’s how things went.

Belladonna Turns Water into Wine

🌺 My doctor said she would not fill out disability paperwork. I was so upset.

Cherry Blossom Finds Secret Medical Records

🌺 I thought I had seen all my medical records. I was wrong. 

Buttercup Makes the Best Application Ever Seen

🌺 My mom was right: you have to do everything yourself. 

Connie Gets a Doctor’s Letter

🌺 Sample doctor’s letter and instructions. 

Dahlia Finds a Surprise in Her Medical Records

🌺 Why were my friend’s records so different than mine? I guess I will never know the answer, but I have a theory.


Cautionary Tale

Patty was not approved. But she is sharing her story so it can help you get approved.

How Patty’s Lawyer Never Told Her What She Needed to Know

🌺 I had my lawyer for 15 months. He never once mentioned that anything was wrong.


Bonus Story!

Roselyn does not actually have Lyme Disease. And she was not actually applying for disability. I included her story here anyway because it is so good and so helpful and so simple and works so well. You should read it.

Roselyn Gets Approved for Paratransit by Using the Magic Words

🌺 Roselyn was totally honest on her application…. and she got denied! A few months later, she applied again. She was still totally honest on her application…. and she got approved!

Leave a Reply

