How’m I Doin’? (Week 3)

flat,1000x1000,075,f.u1-2.jpg

Week three!! This week I have been putting together a list of housing programs and other creative living options for people who are low-income and have CFS/ME or other disabilities.

Confession: I have never actually lived in a housing program. If anyone here has, I would love to hear your experiences.

I have started sending out some friend requests to people who seem like-minded and have mutual friends. I discovered that Facebook has a friend limit of 5,000 friends, (which is a little troubling because I am already at 800 after just three weeks).

If I sent you a friend request and you do not live in the US (or you are not interested in disability topics), feel free to ignore my request and sorry to bother you.

One nice reader encouraged me to start a twitter account, but I am still too intimidated by it at the moment. It’s on my someday list.

This week I’ve also been putting together ideas on how to find wonderful housemates and caregivers.

If you have ME/CFS or you are homebound, the people in your house become REALLY important. Sometimes those are the only people you see!! You also may wish to find people who are uncommonly kind, quiet, sensitive and understanding.

I would love to hear from others who are having good experiences with their caregivers and housemates.

So far the page How to Be Poor in America has been by far the most visited page on the site. Also popular this week:  How To Be Homebound and How to Get Enough Food Stamps to Actually Eat.
The beautiful artwork on this page is created by Elizabeth D’angelo, artist, spreader of love and hope, illness warrior, and force of nature, About the Artist.

From Readers

This is amazing!! I am gonna send myself this link so that I can pore over every aspect. I have so much to learn. You may have just saved my life. I mean it. – M.L

This is an amazing guide for anyone living in poverty, or disabled without family help. – A.M.

 

Leave a Reply

