How Lilac Got Approved for Dependent Benefits

b00b168a27bd6f0bd8343cff29b7b48e.jpg

I have been on Social Security for five years and this is the first time anyone ever told me I could get a higher check because I have a child.

It was a pretty easy process to have my child added to my benefits. You can either do it in person or over the phone. In my case, it literally took two minutes. I am a person who gets very nervous about everything, but this was VERY simple.

The person working at the Social Security office informed me that I had to answer the questions truthfully, to the best of knowledge, or face the penalty of perjury. Then she asked me very basic questions. Child’s name and birth date? Am I her legal parent? Is she a legal citizen? Does she live with me?

Your situation may be different, but I don’t think you will have a problem. I brought her birth certificate and Social Security card. I think they said that if I didn’t have those they could help me obtain them.

I showed them my checkbook for my bank account number. So my daughter’s benefits can go into same account for now.

The backpay arrived this week. $20,000. I still can’t believe it. I will be able to be able to get her the things we have struggling to afford.


Editor’s note: Dependent benefits are only possible for SSDI. Not SSI. Benefits are available for children and sometimes for spouses or ex-spouses. If your children were listed on your original application, they will also get backpay. Learn more about dependent benefits.

Leave a Reply

